17
Jan
10

New Streetart, and a question…

Well, I’ve been doing a bit of painting in what spare time I have these days, and this led me to start painting on cardboard. I ended up making a couple of streetart pieces, which I put up along Rue St. Laurent a few days ago. These three pieces were part of an art-giveaway series that I’m planning on working on, and so I just tacked them up lightly with a couple of thumbtacks.



And I’d like to toss this question your way, my dear readers. What would you say is wrong with the way that North American cities are designed today? I’ve been thinking about this question for a little while, and all I’m realizing is that I’ve gotten too close to the urban planning process to be able to come up with a satisfying answer.

I’ve felt for a while that the profession of urban planning pretty much trains its participants in the interpretation and use of a specialized language which in a way serves to maintain the position and power of a technocratic-interpreter class. However, I’m too entrenched in the specialized language of zoning right now (as per class requirements) and am looking for fresh perspectives. So therefore I toss this question out to you…

2 Responses to “New Streetart, and a question…”


  1. January 17, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    wellll….

    I’m a big fan of the idea of building up (and down) instead of building out….sprawl makes me sad because of all the wasted space, and because its uuuuuuuugly. and it takes forever to get anywhere, and it entrenches the need for cars as opposed to promoting public transit. (all of this, i’m sure you know, becaues *i* know it, and i don’t know anything about urban planning or design)

    that being said, a city of crammed monolithic skyscrapers blocking all sunlight from ever reaching the ground dwellers is pretty stark. :-(

    so… parks? maybe? green is always good…

    agh.

    thats all i got.

  2. January 18, 2010 at 1:52 am

    1) Streets are designed for cars, not for people

    2) Buildings are designed to be seen from the inside out

    3) Greenspace and public space is seen as something to be built on and profited from.

    – RG>


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

