22
Aug
09

Urban Pranksterism

Recently I stumbled upon the wonderfully awesome Urban Prankster blog, which features some of the best street art and pranksterism I’ve seen in a long time. So check it out.

This is my favourite.

One of the main reasons for my still enjoying the act of making and putting up streetart has to do with its ability to amuse and entertain the public.I’ve seen kids run up to swap boxes, look inside and then beckon their parents to come over and exchange something of their own for the treasures inside. A lot of the work on this blog fits that notion perfectly…

Just today I was walking by a vine-covered wall and thought it’d be a neat idea to put up a big wheatpaste stencil of Laocoon in behind the Virginia Creeper. But I’m somewhat of a Classics nerd like that…
Although something interesting’s coming in the next few days…

2 Responses to “Urban Pranksterism”


  1. August 22, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Wow, thanks for that link! It’s written by Improv Everywhere’s Charlie Todd.

    I also discovered the origins of the Elgin Street Flower Box: Super Mario boxes!

    (I attributed the Elgin box to you, but I can’t see your signature in any of my photos of it. Was I right?)

    - RG>


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

