18
Jun
09

A tribute, and more art

Recently I’ve been hesitant. I’ve been unsure as to what direction I’d take streetart-wise (with a combination of my conventional art-work and gradschool plans beginning to eat up whatever time I have for working on street related stuff). I’ve always been interested in both bits and pieces of forgotten history and the people who take up the task of bringing those forgotten truths out into the light, and recently I’ve been reading about the number of unsolved murders in Ottawa. Even when cases were solved some seemed to fade quicker from memory than others, although the name of Ardeth Wood still makes the front-pages of our daily papers on occasion.

The latest piece I’ve been working on is a memorial to Kelly Morrisseau, who was murdered by an unknown assailant over two and a half years ago. The memorial itself is made from found plywood, and was shaped with hand-saws and painted over a one-week period. Minto Park, home to the Female Victims of Violence memorial, was the logical choice of site for this particular piece. I don’t know if I’ve done Ms. Morrisseau justice in my creation, but I’d like to see justice come about in her still-open murder investigation.

IF YOU”VE GOT A BLOG, PLEASE REPOST THIS STORY. WE NEED TO BRING SOME ATTENTION TO THIS CASE.

Kelly Morrisseau was seven months’ pregnant when she was murdered on December 10th, 2006. She was found, naked and clinging to life from a dozen stab wounds, in a parking-lot near Gatineau Park and died in hospital that morning. She left behind three children.

While a few leads came in initially, the investigation into her murder seems to have all but dried up and her death seems to have been forgotten by the people of our city.

Now I know that I am going to upset some people by saying what I am going to say next, but it will be said regardless. Not every murdered woman is named Ardeth, and it seems that the ones not fortunate enough to have been so blessed are shuffled off to the back pages in a hurry. Should we forget Kelly Morrisseau’s murder because she was involved in the sex-trade industry? Because she had her first child at age sixteen? Because she came from a First Nations reserve? Because she wasn’t a blonde virgin with a fiance and a Masters’ education??

The case is still open, and more information can be found here:
Crime Stoppers
Nation Talk

There is a $20,000 reward in place for information leading to the arrest of Ms. Morrisseau’s killer.

On a different note, I’ve spent a lot of my free time building boxes and miniature cabinets out of scrap wood in preparation for an upcoming art-show. At some point I’d like to learn how to cut joints and build sliding mechanisms for chests of drawers.
Everything here is nearly 100 per cent recycled (with the exception of paint, of course, and hinges). Door pulls and screws were salvaged from discarded furniture.
I also got to meet Zoom (of Knitnut fame) today and chat with her and GC briefly about several things, including Duncan.


3 Responses to “A tribute, and more art”


  1. June 18, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Should we forget Kelly Morrisseau’s murder because she was involved in the sex-trade industry? Because she had her first child at age sixteen? Because she came from a First Nations reserve? Because she wasn’t a blonde virgin with a fiance and a Masters’ education?

    Well said.

  2. June 18, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    A very appropriate tribute, well done.

    I picked up a nice box that I plan to make into a swapbox at some point.

    Also, I recommend http://www.woodgears.ca, by Ottawa’s Matthias Wändel, for lots of woodworking tips (though he has a well-equipped shop).

    – RG>


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

